Research

L1050992u

  1. Research Resources – This is an abridged, introductory list

The sites below are where you should supplement all preliminary research (start with the UMD, Duluth Municipal, and CSS library sites). They also serve as guides – whether for research, or for the news assignments – for what constitutes credible and scholarly sources of information. Whenever the word “research” is used for this class, start here (not Google, Bing, Wikipedia, etc. ….)

 

The Middle Ground Journal at http://themiddlegroundjournal.org

Professor Liang at http://ProfessorLiang.org

The North Star Reports at http://NorthStarReports.org

The North Star Reports Farcebook at https://www.facebook.com/NorthStarReports

History and Politics Farcebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/313796351923/

SOLAR – CSS Library Website at: http://libguides.css.edu/CSSLibrary

Digital Public Library of America at http://dp.la/

 

MIT Visualising Cultures http://ocw.mit.edu/ans7870/21f/21f.027/home/index.html

History News Network http://hnn.us/

Japan Focus http://japanfocus.org/

H-Net http://www.h-net.org/

Internet Sacred Text Archive http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm

H-World

World History Connected

 

C-Span Book Tee Vee http://www.booktv.org/

C-Span Classroom http://www.c-spanclassroom.org/

Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/index.html

U.S. National Archives http://www.archives.gov/

Smithsonian http://collections.si.edu/search/

Matrix http://www2.matrix.msu.edu/

NEH http://edsitement.neh.gov/

Culture 360 http://culture360.org/

Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/

Indian and Pakistani History http://www.harappa.com/

European History Online http://www.ieg-ego.eu/

Mozambique History Net http://mozambiquehistory.net/

 

Media Commons http://mediacommons.futureofthebook.org/

FlowTV Journal http://flowtv.org/

Film and History http://www.uwosh.edu/filmandhistory

Capturing Reality: the Art of Documentary Making http://www3.nfb.ca/webextension/capturing-reality/

American Popular Culture: Resources for Critical Analysis http://www.wsu.edu/~amerstu/pop/

  1. Calgary Popular Culture http://www.ucalgary.ca/applied_history/tutor/popculture/

 

H-Net for Diplomatic and International History http://www.h-net.org/~diplo/

Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations http://www.shafr.org/

Foreign Policy Research Institute http://www.fpri.org/ (Think Tank Directory)

Cold War International History Center (Woodrow Wilson Center) http://www.cwihp.org

National Security Archive (GW University) http://www.nsarchive.org

East-West Center http://www.eastwestcenter.org/

Nixon tapes http://nixontapes.org/

Foreign Policy Magazine http://www.foreignpolicy.com/

Foreign Affairs (Council of Foreign Relations) Reading Lists http://www.foreignaffairs.com/features/reading-lists

 

H-Net H-Memory http://www.h-net.org/~memory/resources.html

History and Memory: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/history_and_memory/

Memory Studies: http://www.sagepub.co.uk/

American Memory, United States Library of Congress

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

Centre for Interdisciplinary Memory Research, Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut, Essen

http://www.memory–research.de/cms/

Indiana University Center for the Study of History and Memory

http://www.indiana.edu/~cshm/

Memory Studies Project at McGill

http://www.memory.mcgill.ca/

 

H-Net for Asian Studies http://www.h-net.org/~asia/

Asia Matters http://www.asiamattersforamerica.org/

Asia Society http://www.asiasociety.org/index.html

The South China Sea Virtual Library http://www.southchinasea.org/

Indian Ocean World Centre http://indianoceanworldcentre.com/

The Silkroad Foundation http://www.silkroadfoundation.org/toc/index.html

Association for the Study of Nationalities http://www.nationalities.org/

Leave a Reply Please

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s